Scott Krokoff - Confessional and compelling Americana
Scott Krokoff - Confessional and compelling Americana
Scott's debut CD, A Better Life, was released in 2007. Produced, engineered and mixed by long-time studio veteran Bob Stander and mastered by Gene Paul of G&J Audio (formerly DB Plus), A Better Life contains 13 radio-friendly tracks featuring catchy, energetic acoustic rhythms spanning the genres of folk, pop and rock. Scott is backed on the album by several notable musicians including former Wings drummer Steve Holley (also known for his work with Dar Williams), keyboardist Paul Errico (Steve Forbert), legendary jazz saxophonist Mario Cruz (Jaco Pastorius, Bruce Springsteen), pedal steel virtuoso John Widgren, veteran drummer Shawn Murray (drummer with The Mink DeVille Band and Willy DeVille Band for 17 years), percussionist/vocalist John Michel (John Oates) and fellow singer-songwriter Mark Newman (Willy Deville, John Oates).
A Better Life had a solid debut on the college radio circuit during the summer and fall of 2009, receiving airplay on over 130 radio stations. In July 2010, "A Better Life," the title cut, was played during the 2nd annual NY Yankees Hope Week segment on The Today Show on NBC. In addition, in February 2009, "A Better Life" placed Runner-Up in Mike Pinder's (co-founder of The Moody Blues, and now affiliated with the John Lennon Songwriting Competition) SONGWARS songwriting competition, and in August 2010, Gary Allen (drummer from The Charles Daniels Band and JJ Cale) selected Scott's song "Holy Fire" as the winner of his Best New Song In The World competition.
Jessica Kostek of concluded that "[o]verall, A Better Life is a wonderful CD that will leave listeners full of anticipation for Krokoff's second release." Annie Reuter of You Sing, I Write, noted that A Better Life "can be easily kept on repeat all day long" and that "many of his songs could be easily heard on the radio." Colin Meeks of Indie Launchpad concluded that A Better Life "is one of those albums, that you listen to and in the blink of an eye it's over. This is a trait that marks a fine album."
To purchase digital downloads from the A Better Life album, go to either iTunes or Scott's BandCamp page. To purchase physical CDs, go to CD Baby.
Track Listing:

1 — I Know Your Story
2 — Friend In Need
3 — A Better Life
4 — Sparrows
5 — Tomorrow's Coming
6 — Glimpse Of Your Face
7 — Acid Rain
8 — There's A Woman
9 — Teresa Jane
10 — Holy Fire
11 — Autumn Sky
12 — You and Me
13 — Do You Wanna Play
Scott Krokoff — acoustic guitar, vocals
Bob Stander — bass, electric guitar
Paul Errico — accordion, keys, hammond b3 (except Track 1)
Shawn Murray — drums (Tracks 4-8)
Steve Holley — drums & percussion (Tracks 1-3, 9-13)
Mark Newman — backing vocals (Tracks 5-8, 13), dobro (Track 4)
John Michel — backup vocals (Tracks 1, 4-8, 13), percussion (Tracks 4, 8)
Scott Yahney — hammond b3 (Track 1)
John Widgren — pedal steel (Track 10)
Mario Cruz — sax (Tracks 1, 13)
Jason Chapman — trumpet (Track 13)
Ed Leone — trombone (Track 13)
Produced, engineered and mixed by Bob Stander
Recorded at VuDu Studios, Freeport, NY
Mastered by Gene Paul at DB Plus, New York, New York
CD Design by Pursuit Design
Photography by Melissa Dierna
All songs written by Scott Krokoff (BMI), except I Know Your Story and Do You Wanna Play, each co-written by Scott Krokoff (BMI) and Karl Hofmann
Scott Krokoff
Copyright ©2021 Hypochondriac Records, LLC